GIMP - The GNU Image Manipulation Program

• Thread starter DeletedUser13484
  • Start date

DeletedUser13484

Hi guys/girls

I have downloaded Gimp but im a newbie to stuff like this. Just wondering if people can help me out with some tips/hints. I wanna try and make some sigs/town flags to post on here and get some feed back.

DeletedUser

The only advice I can give ya is to just start usin' it. I've been usin' photoshop since version 5.0 came out back in the late 90's and just taught myself how to use it. Take a few images you like, open them in GIMP and just start messing around with the brushes and tools.

DeletedUser13020

yes, mess around and doodle with everything. and remember tutorials are your friends.

DeletedUser

I'm making some GIMP images.They'll have funny text and will be slightly smudged and the so.

DeletedUser8950

It's quite a tricky program to begin with-perseverance is required.
For simple things like banners, click "create," then "logos", then choose from the list. Very easy.

DeletedUser

I have GIMP on my mac, and started off just messing around. I have also used http://www.tutorialized.com/ which has some good tutorials (although it has a horrible site design imo). The background for my sig came from the photoshop section and the rest I made in GIMP. Can't wait for GIMP 2.8 to come out (single windowed!)

DeletedUser

I'm pretty new myself, i have found the most important thing i have learned is the use of alpha channel. It means that when you cut parts of the image out it leaves transparency that allows the layer below to show through.

DeletedUser

Actually, the most important thing is to use layers. Lots of em. Manipulation of layers to affect the original is a far better move than to modify the original.

DeletedUser

I still have to use a guide I got from another game's forum.I made a really bad one though.

DeletedUser